„I was my own music scene“ – Luca Bacchetti drops his debut album „Secret World“


Luca Bacchetti’s debut album „Secret World“ is a work almost 15 years in the making. It’s also one that required the endlessly touring DJ to traverse the world numerous times before an inner call came to return home to Italy to record it. Having earned a reputation for crafting club cuts, a fact underlined by releases on the world’s most recognisable labels, from Wagon Repair, Ovum, All Day I Dream and Crosstown Rebels to Defectedand his own Endless imprint, it’s a radical sonic departure. But it’s one that reflects both his homecoming and the journey to get there. ”With this, I entered a new world I’ve never shown before,” he says.


Photo: Giorgio Leone

After spending ten years between Italy and Barcelona, his base to play everywhere from Tokyo’s Womb to DC10 in Ibiza, in 2017 he moved back to his native Tuscany. Here, at the beginning of 2018, he decamped for two weeks to a bungalow in Il Ciocco. An area of exceptional natural beauty, he was joined by friends and musicians Stefano Onorati (keyboards), Andrea Guzzoletti (trumpet) and Leo Di Angilla (percussion). All Italian, their sole intention was to capture the ineffable feeling that had drawn Luca back. “We make a living with this job and there are always compromises,” says Luca on his past experience of the music industry. “With the album I aimed to be totally free, I just followed my instinct.”

The result is a masterful vision of electronica swelling with emotional contours as majestic as the lands that inspired it. Title track “Secret World” is epic on the scale of the grand Apennines Mountains, whilst first single “Awakenings” evokes spring sunshine with soft, tentative piano. The album also captures the countries Luca has fallen in love with on his way. “Black Swan” his opening track playing for Robot Heart at last year’s Burning Man festival in Nevada, USA trips out in a squeal of psychedelic guitar. “La Ruta Del Sur” and “Fervor De Buenos Aires”, meanwhile captures the distinct melodies and rhythmic complexity of South America, and the contemplative “After The Silence” features two Balinese Rindik musicians recorded after Nyepi Day, a day of national silence.

Growing up in the tiny village of Pieve Fosciana, there were no record shops or clubs. Radio was Luca’s saviour and he followed its lure into DJing, production, then, since 2005, playing around the world. His path has encompassed a wide musical love of everything from Bristolian trip-hop to Detroit techno, but these city’s histories aren’t his own truth.

Luca’s secret world is no longer secret. You can apply the same go to adjectives to the album as used to describe Tuscany at large: ‘simple’, ‘honest’, ‘beautiful’, ‘earthy’, ‘romantic’. In the end, language fails to capture the sublime nature of his roots. Next to experiencing them directly, the closest you’ll get is “Secret World” – an alchemical transformation of the images in Luca’s head into the universal language of music.

Buy the album here!

trndmsk: How long did it take you to produce the album?

Luca Bacchetti: I could say 15 years, as stated on the liner notes of the album, but in actual fact it was recorded in 10 days and arranged and mixed in a month… since then so many things have happened and it’s now ready for release after a year and a half.

How did you choose the title of the LP? Is there a special meaning behind it?

After years of travelling around the world, I felt the need to set-off again from where it all started:
I come from a small village in Tuscany where there were no record stores or clubs and no music scene: I was my own music scene. The beauty of the place and nature had a fundamental role in the realisation of this record. This ‘Secret World’ deserves to be shown and I will be doing that with a short video documentary too.

What inspired you to produce the tracks and the LP?

Without a doubt the desire to translate the feel and sensation of my land: Tuscany, its beauty and nature .. all of this has then been further influenced by my experiences from around the world and my boundless love of music.

Where and how did you produce the tracks?

I chose to bring together Stefano Onorati (piano), Andrea Guzzoletti (trumpet), Leo Di Angilla (percussion) in a bungalow deep in the park of Il Ciocco, an extraordinarily beautiful resort here in Tuscany. I wanted these musicians to be conditioned by the natural wonder of these places.. away from any noise and distractions, completely relaxed: that necessary but elusive state of being which is so difficult to achieve in this day and age. I wanted the album to speak this language which is why the location played such an important part, not forgetting the lunch breaks! In the first phase we set up a mobile studio in the bungalow and then we recorded some instruments in the nearby Ciocco Studios. The Rindik you hear in ‘After The Silence’ was recorded in Bali during an Asia tour. Once the material was recorded I did all the arranging and mixing in my own studio.

How was the feedback so far?

The album most certainly differentiates itself from all I’ve done up ‚til now, going beyond the club. Those who have heard the album are usually pleasantly thrown by this, and this is what I wanted.

How and why did you choose the record label?

Because of the way it was put together, this is a very personal album.. it is not following any trend, it doesn’t have just one colour: it’s varied but held together by a mood. Because of this I felt that ENDLESS was the right label.

What’s up next after the release? Any plans and projects?

After this LP, Secret World Remixes will be released. The task has been given to artists who I particularly like: Mathias Schober, Iñigo Vontier, Khidja, Stefano Onorati and even I had a bit of fun remixing a song. A new EP is planned for early 2020.


01. Secret World
02. Awakenings
03. Black Swan
04. After the Silence
05. La Ruta Del Sur
06. Fervor De Buenos Aires
07. Sakura
08. The Bridge
09. The Big Journey
10. Unconsciously United
11. Caribbean Nights
12. Navajo Blues
13. La Pieve