Seven stories for one compilation – Chapter 24 Records releases his collection „Rebirth“


The universe of stories can be broken down into seven basic plots which underlie all stories ever told. Recognising these patterns is the gateway to unravelling the universal symbolic language from which all storytelling is spun. With „Rebirth“, Chapter 24 returns with seven stories in sound collected from artists all across the world to bring these themes to life, the seventh and final iteration in this compilation series.

South African star Bruce Loko opens proceedings with the deep, melodious textures of „Cyclone“, whipping up the ethereal eye of the storm. Chapter 24 regular Kieran Apter is next, making good the tension with the impactful „6.10.21 Break“. Such is the power of this track that it propels the listener into new sonic dimensions. Kostakis offers up „Xerxes“, which is equally big and conjures up the dusty, mysterious and impenetrable planes of the desert. Meanwhile, Acumen returns to the imprint in collaboration with Pontias. „Shower for Hours“ is a pumping, techy number bound to get the dancefloor bouncing before opening out into a euphoric peak.

The compilation closes out with a high-quality trio. Label favourite KatrinKa delivers the typically deep groove of „ABAF“. DJ Zombi takes things further down into a dreamy and blissful space with „Steph“. The honour of closing out the final Seven Stories befalls Hope Recordings and Soundgarden legend Nick Warren and the talented Nicolas Rada, who revisit Anton Dhouran’s „Valhalla Rising“. Their Edition is fittingly deep, transportative and dramatic.

trndmsk: What inspired you to produce the track?

Acumen & Pontias: The timeless hangover trying to find a way out under the shower!

Where did you record it? And how?

We made a first recording at Acumen’s studio, to build the main idea of the track. Then we moved to Pontias’s studio, recording lines with other instruments and working more on the details. We’ve tried to have a good mix between some very nice software we like (Prophet V, Diva…) as well as some hardware we tend to work with (Nord Lead, Moog, Korg, Novation Peak, Analog Rhythm…). It flows nicely with our different influences and the way we’re producing music – we’ve tried to have a good mix between the best of our respective skills. It’s also always good to take the time to listen to how other people are working and how they approach music.

How did you get in contact with the record label?

Acumen released a remix on Chapter 24 a few years ago.

What do you think about the other tracks?

As with a lot of releases on Chapter 24, this Seven Stories is a really high quality one! We are very and sincerely happy to be a part of it.

What’s your favorite?

We like „Valhalla Rising“ and „6.10.21 Break“ a lot.

What’s up next after the release? Are you working on any other projects?

Pontias just released on the new imprint from HOSH called „Become One“. Acumen will soon release on Last Night On Earth with a remix from Fairmont. And yes, we have a couple of other works together and may have some very good news soon!


01. Bruce Loko – Cyclone
02. Kieran Apter – 6.10.21 Break
03. Kostakis – Xerxes
04. Acumen & Pontias – Shower For Hours
05. KatrinKa – ABAF
06. DJ Zombi – Steph
07. Anton Dhouran – Valhalla Rising (Nick Warren & Nicolas Rada Edition)